Thirst

The Water Poems

Eric Hjerstedt Sharp

Here my thirst for water

runs mightier than yesterday’s rivers themselves

I lie awake thirsty chasing daydreams in rapids

I sleep submerged in quiet pools of tommorow’s storms

against river beds I seek my cool liquid refreshment

cool and clear moving through my mind’s riverbed

dancing in waterfall’s mist I gulp the spirit and wet

drops that form an invisible tide swelling

my tongue aches for the moist portions

soothing my throat I awaken to find only sun

dried images of lake beds cracking dry soil.

Troubles deeper than any mine.

Eric Hjerstedt Sharp Copyright © 2014

Leave a Reply

